Site Search:

New Zealand Map

The Map of New Zealand consists of two main large Islands, the North Island and South Island. New Zealand also has many other smaller islands of which Stewart/Rakiura Island at the bottom of the South Island is the biggest, although Waiheke Island has the largest population of the smaller islands. Waiheke is in the Auckland area.

Below the Map there is a full list of all Islands of New Zealand

Map of New Zealand

View Larger Map

New Zealand map facts

Land Area 268,670 sq km (103,733 sq miles)  
Latitude/Longitude 41 00S, 174 00E 
Highest Point Mt. Cook, 12,315 ft. (3,764 m) 
New Zealand Coastline length; 17,208.6 km. That is number 12 in the world, with Canada number 1 
NZ is approximately 1600 km in length  
The Cook Strait, 20 km wide at its narrowest point, it separates the two major islands. 
A thousand years ago, 78% of New Zealand was covered by forest. That is now 25%. 

New Zealand has many other Islands in the Main New Zealand open ocean chain and include;

Open sea islands

Alderman Islands

Anchor Island

Anchorage Island

Arakaninihi Island 

Araara Island

Arapawa Island

Aroha Island

Bench Island

Big South Cape Island 

The Brothers 

Cavalli Islands

Chalky Island 

Codfish Island/Whenuahou

Cuvier Island

D'Urville Island 

Dragon Island 

East Island/Whangaokeno

Goat Island

Great Barrier Island/Aotea

Green Island

Hen and Chicken Islands

Hauturu/Little Barrier Island 

Kapiti Island

Kawau Island 

Makaro/Ward Island

Mana Island

Matakana Island

Matiu/Somes Island

Maud Island/Te Hoiere

Mayor Island/Tuhua 

Mercury Islands 

Motiti Island 

Motukawao Islands

Motunau Island

Moturata/Taieri Island

Motutapu Island 

Native Island 

Noble Island 

North Island

Open Bay Islands

Pearl Island

Ponui Island

Poor Knights Islands

Portland Island

Pourewa Island 

Quail Island

Rabbit Island 

Rakino Island 

Rangitoto Island

Resolution Island

Ruapuke Island

Saint Martin Island/Quarantine Island

Secretary Island

Slipper Island

South Island

Stephens Island/Takapourewa

Stewart Island/Rakiura

Tapu Te Ranga Motu

Tiritiri Matangi Island

Titi/Muttonbird Islands

Ulva Island

Waiheke Island

Whakaari/White Island

Whale Island 

Whanganui Island

White Island, Otago


Islands in rivers and lakes

Channel Islands (in Lake Manapouri)
Dome Islands (in Lake Te Anau)
Entrance Island (in Lake Te Anau)
Harwich Island (in Lake Wanaka)
Inch Clutha (in the Clutha River delta)
Mokoia Island (in Lake Rotorua)
Motuariki Island (in Lake Tekapo)
Motutaiko Island (in Lake Taupo)
Pigeon Island (in Lake Wakatipu)
Pig Island (in Lake Wakatipu)
Pomona Island (in Lake Manapouri)
Rakaia Island (in the Rakaia River delta)
Rangitata Island (in the Rangitata River delta)
Rona Island (in Lake Manapouri)

Islands outside the main archipelago

New Zealand also administers the following islands outside the main archipelago. Only the Chatham Islands have a permanent population although others also did in the past. Others host visitors for science, conservation, meteorological observation and tourism.

Chatham Islands
Chatham Island/Rekohu
Little Mangere Island
Mangere Island
Pitt Island/Rangiauria
The Sisters/Rangitatahi
South East Island/Rangatira
Star Keys/Motuhope
Kermadec Islands
Cheeseman Island
Curtis Island
Macauley Island
Raoul Island
Solander Islands
Three Kings Islands

The New Zealand sub-antarctic islands are considered World Heritage Sites

Antipodes Islands
Auckland Islands
Adams Island
Auckland Island
Bounty Islands
Campbell Island group
Campbell Island
Dent Island
Folly Island (or Folly Islands)
Jacquemart Island
The Snares

Self-governing territories

The following self-governing island territories are politically dependent areas of New Zealand but are not considered part of New Zealand geographically:

Cook Islands 









Palmerston Island

Penrhyn Island/Tongareva 











Territorial claims

New Zealand also claims the Ross Dependency in Antarctica, including:

Balleny Islands

Buckle Island

Sabrina Island

Sturge Island

Young Island

Coulman Island

Roosevelt Island

Ross Island

Scott Island

Reviews / Comments for New Zealand Map

No reviews have been written write a review now.

Developed by Wetstone Technologies